Meet The Breeds

There are 183 breeds of dogs that are recognized by the AKC. Listed below are the dogs along with a link to their parent clubs.  

Breed, National Breed Club

Affenpinscher, http://www.affenpinscher.org/
Afghan Hound, http://afghanhoundclubofamerica.org/
Airedale Terrier,  http://www.airedale.org/
Akita, http://www.akitaclub.org/
Alaskan Malamute, http://alaskanmalamute.org/
American English Coonhound, http://www.akc.org/dog-breeds/american-english-coonhound/
American Eskimo Dog,  http://www.aedca.org/
American Foxhound, http://www.americanfoxhoundclub.org/clubinfo.html
American Staffordshire Terrier, http://www.amstaff.org/
American Water Spaniel, http://www.americanwaterspanielclub.org/
Anatolian Shepherd Dog, http://www.asdca.org/
Australian Cattle Dog, http://www.acdca.org/
Australian Cattle Dog, http://www.acdca.org/
Australian Shepherd, http://www.asca.org/
Australian Terrier, http://www.australianterrier.org/
Basenji, https://www.basenji.org/joomla/
Basset Hound, http://www.basset-bhca.org/
Beagle, http://clubs.akc.org/NBC/
Bearded Collie, http://beardedcollieclub.us/
Beauceron, http://www.beauce.org/
Bedlington Terrier, http://bedlingtonamerica.com/
Belgian Malinois, http://www.malinoisclub.com/abmc/
Belgian Sheepdog, http://bsca.info/
Belgian Tervuren, http://www.abtc.org/
Bernese Mountain Dog, http://www.bmdca.org/
Bichon Frise, http://www.bichon.org/
Black Russian Terrier, http://www.brtca.org/
Black and Tan Coonhound, http://www.abtcc.com/
Bloodhound, http://www.bloodhounds.org/
Bluetick Coonhound, http://www.bluetickbreedersofamerica.com/
Border Collie, http://www.bordercolliesociety.com/
Border Terrier, http://www.btcoa.org/
Borzoi, http://www.borzoiclubofamerica.org/
Boston Terrier, http://www.bostonterrierclubofamerica.org/
Bouvier des Flandres, http://www.bouvier.org/
Boxer, http://americanboxerclub.org/
Boykin Spaniel, http://theboykinspanielclub.com/
Briard, http://briardclubofamerica.org/bca/
Brittany, http://clubs.akc.org/brit/
Brussels Griffon, http://www.brussels-griffon.info/
Bull Terrier, http://www.btca.com/content/
Bulldog, http://www.bulldogclubofamerica.org/
Bullmastiff, http://www.bullmastiff.us/
Cairn Terrier, http://www.cairnterrier.org/
Canaan Dog, http://cdca.org/
Cane Corso, http://www.canecorso.org/
Cardigan Welsh Corgi, http://www.cardigancorgis.com/
Cavalier King Charles Spaniel, http://www.ackcsc.org/
Cesky Terrier, http://www.cesky.org/
Chesapeake Bay Retriever, http://www.amchessieclub.org/
Chihuahua, http://www.chihuahuaclubofamerica.com/
Chinese Crested, http://accc.chinesecrestedclub.info/
Chinese Shar-Pei, http://www.cspca.com/
Chinook, http://www.chinook.org/
Chow Chow, http://chowclub.org/ccci/
Clumber Spaniel, http://www.clumbers.org/
Cocker Spaniel, http://www.asc-cockerspaniel.org/
Collie (Rough), http://www.collieclubofamerica.org/
Collie (Smooth), http://www.collieclubofamerica.org/
Coton de Tulear, http://usactc.org/
Curly-Coated Retriever, http://www.ccrca.org/
Dachshund, http://www.dachshundclubofamerica.org/
Dalmatian, http://www.thedca.org/
Dandie Dinmont Terrier, http://ddtca.org/
Doberman Pinscher, http://www.dpca.org/
Dogue de Bordeaux, not provided
English Cocker Spaniel, http://www.ecsca.info/
English Foxhound, http://www.akc.org/dog-breeds/english-foxhound/
English Setter, http://www.esaa.com/
English Springer Spaniel, http://www.essfta.org/
English Toy Spaniel, http://www.englishtoyspanielclubofamerica.org/
Entlebucher Mountain Dog, http://nemda.org/
Field Spaniel, http://fieldspaniels.org/
Finnish Lapphund, http://finnishlapphundclubofamerica.org/
Finnish Spitz, http://www.finnishspitzclub.org/
Flat-Coated Retriever, http://www.fcrsainc.org/
French Bulldog, http://fbdca.org/
German Pinscher, http://www.german-pinscher.com/
German Shepherd Dog, http://gsdca.org/
German Shorthaired Pointer, http://www.gspca.org/
German Wirehaired Pointer, http://www.gwpca.com/
Giant Schnauzer, http://www.giantschnauzerclubofamerica.com/
Glen of Imaal Terrier, http://www.glens.org/
Golden Retriever, http://www.grca.org/
Gordon Setter, http://www.gsca.org/
Great Dane, http://www.gdca.org/
Great Pyrenees, http://www.gpcaonline.org/
Greater Swiss Mountain Dog, http://www.gsmdca.org/
Greyhound, http://www.greyhoundclubofamericainc.org/
Harrier, http://www.harrierclubofamerica.com/
Havanese, http://www.havanese.org/
Ibizan Hound, http://www.ihcus.org/
Icelandic Sheepdog, http://www.icelanddogs.com/
Irish Red and White Setter, http://www.irishredwhitesetterassociation.com/
Irish Setter, http://www.irishsetterclub.org/
Irish Terrier, http://www.itca.info/
Irish Water Spaniel, http://www.iwsca.org/
Irish Wolfhound, http://www.iwclubofamerica.org/index.html
Italian Greyhound, http://www.italiangreyhound.org/
Japanese Chin, http://japanesechinclub.org/
Keeshond, http://www.keeshond.org/
Kerry Blue Terrier, http://www.uskbtc.com/
Komondor, http://komondorclubofamerica.org/
Kuvasz, http://kuvaszclubofamerica.org/
Labrador Retriever, http://www.thelabradorclub.com/
Lakeland Terrier, http://usltc.org/
Leonberger, http://www.leonbergerclubofamerica.com/
Lhasa Apso, https://www.lhasaapso.org/
Lowchen, http://www.thelowchenclubofamerica.org/
Maltese, http://www.americanmaltese.org/
Manchester Terrier, http://www.americanmanchester.org/
Manchester Terrier Toy, http://www.americanmanchester.org/
Mastiff, http://mastiff.org/
Miniature Bull Terrier, http://www.minibull.org/
Miniature Pinscher, http://www.minpin.org/
Miniature Schnauzer, http://amsc.us/
Neapolitan Mastiff, http://www.neapolitan.org/
Newfoundland, http://www.ncanewfs.org/
Norfolk Terrier, http://www.norfolkterrierclub.org/
Norwegian Buhund, http://www.buhund.org/
Norwegian Elkhound, http://neaa.net/
Norwegian Lundehund, http://nlaainc.com/
Norwich Terrier, http://norwichterrierclub.org/
Nova Scotia Duck Tolling Retriever, http://nsdtrc-usa.org/
Old English Sheepdog, http://www.oldenglishsheepdogclubofamerica.org/
Otterhound, http://otterhound.org/
Papillon, http://www.papillonclub.org/
Parson Russell Terrier, http://www.prtaa.org/
Pekingese, http://thepekingeseclubofamerica.net/
Pembroke Welsh Corgi, http://www.pwcca.org/
Petit Basset Griffon Vendeen, http://www.pbgv.org/
Pharaoh Hound, http://www.ph-club.org/
Plott, http://www.akc.org/dog-breeds/plott/
Pointer, http://www.americanpointerclub.org/
Polish Lowland Sheepdog, http://www.aponc.org/
Pomeranian, http://www.americanpomeranianclub.org/
Poodle, http://www.poodleclubofamerica.org/
Poodle Miniature, http://www.poodleclubofamerica.org/
Portuguese Podengo Pequeno, http://portuguesepodengopequeno.org/
Portuguese Water Dog, http://www.pwdca.org/
Pug, http://pugs.org/
Puli, http://www.puliclub.org/
Pyrenean Shepherd, http://www.pyrshepclub.com/
Rat Terrier, http://www.ratterrierclub.com/
Redbone Coonhound, http://www.nationalredbonecoonhoundassociation.org/
Rhodesian Ridgeback, http://rrcus.org/
Rottweiler, http://www.amrottclub.org/
Russell Terrier, http://www.therealjackrussell.com/index.php
Saluki, http://www.salukiclub.org/
Samoyed, http://www.samoyedclubofamerica.org/
Schipperke, http://schipperkeclub-usa.org/schipperke/
Scottish Deerhound, http://www.deerhound.org/index.shtml
Scottish Terrier, http://www.stca.biz/
Sealyham Terrier, http://clubs.akc.org/sealy/
Shetland Sheepdog, http://www.assa.org/
Shiba Inu, http://www.shibas.org/
Shih Tzu, http://americanshihtzuclub.org/
Siberian Husky, http://www.shca.org/
Silky Terrier, http://silkyterrierclubofamerica.org/
Skye Terrier, http://clubs.akc.org/skye/
Smooth Fox Terrier, http://www.aftc.org/
Soft Coated Wheaten Terrier, http://www.scwtca.org/
Spinone Italiano, http://www.spinoneclubofamerica.com/
St. Bernard, http://saintbernardclub.org/
Staffordshire Bull Terrier, http://www.sbtca.com/
Standard Schnauzer, http://www.standardschnauzer.org/
Sussex Spaniel, http://www.sussexspaniels.org/
Swedish Vallhund, http://www.swedishvallhund.com/
Tibetan Mastiff, http://www.tibetanmastiff.org/
Tibetan Spaniel, http://wp.tsca.ws/
Tibetan Terrier, http://www.ttca-online.org/
Toy Fox Terrier, http://www.atftc.com/
Treeing Walker Coonhound, http://www.akc.org/dog-breeds/treeing-walker-coonhound/
Vizsla, http://vcaweb.org/
Weimaraner, http://weimaranerclubofamerica.org/main/index.php?lang=en
Welsh Springer Spaniel, http://www.wssca.com/
Welsh Terrier, http://clubs.akc.org/wtca/
West Highland White Terrier, http://www.westieclubamerica.com/
Whippet, http://www.americanwhippetclub.net/
Wire Fox Terrier, http://www.americanwhippetclub.net/
Wirehaired Pointing Griffon, http://www.awpga.com/
Wirehaired Vizsla, http://www.whvca.us/
Xoloitzcuintli, http://www.xoloitzcuintliclubofamerica.org/
Yorkshire Terrier, http://www.theyorkshireterrierclubofamerica.org/